Management Team

A legacy of strong leadership

In the 60 years since Dawson Geophysical opened its doors, we have inspired trust in our clients and fostered an employee centered culture that has enabled us to become the premier onshore acquisition company in North America. We offer the stability that comes with having long tenured management and the confidence of dealing with industry veterans who understand your seismic challenges and deliver the exact solution you need. Key to our managerial strengths is our commitment to always being accountable. That is why, from the front office to the field, Dawson personnel are accessible to clients to ensure the job is done as promised.

Key Leader Bios:

Stephen C. Jumper
Chairman of the Board, President & CEO

Mr. Jumper joined Dawson Geophysical Company in January of 1985 as a geophysicist.  He graduated from the University of Texas at Austin in December of 1984 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Geological Sciences, Geophysics option.  Jumper began his career with Dawson as a seismic data processor.

During his tenure with Dawson, Mr. Jumper has served the company as Technical Services Manager with an emphasis on 3-D seismic processing, Vice President of Technical Services, and currently President.  He was elected President, Chief Operating Officer, and Director of the Company in January, 2001. Jumper currently serves as President, Chief Executive Officer, and Director.

Mr. Jumper’s professional affiliations include memberships with the Society of Exploration Geophysicists, Permian Basin Geophysical Society, the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers, and the West Texas Geological Society.  He served the Permian Basin Geophysical Society as Second Vice President, First Vice President, and President from 1991 – 1994. He has made several technical presentations to various local and national professional societies meetings and co-authored a 3-D case study paper published in a joint SEG/AAPG publication.  Jumper currently serves on the University of Texas at Austin Jackson School of Geosciences Advisory Counsel.

Back to Top

C. Ray Tobias
Executive Vice President & COO

Mr. Tobias joined the Company in 1990, and was elected Vice President in September 1997 and Executive Vice President and Director in January 2001. In January 2006, Mr. Tobias was elected Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer. Mr. Tobias supervises client relationships and survey cost quotations to clients. He has served on the Board of Directors of the International Association of Geophysical Contractors and is Past President of the Permian Basin Geophysical Society. Prior to joining the Company, Mr. Tobias was employed by Geo-Search Corporation where he was an operations supervisor.

Back to Top

Christina W. Hagan
Executive Vice President, CAO & Secretary

Mrs. Hagan joined the Company in 1988, and was elected Chief Financial Officer and Vice President in 1997 and Senior Vice President and Secretary in January 2003. In January 2004, Mrs. Hagan was elected as Executive Vice President. Prior thereto, Mrs. Hagan served the Company as Controller and Treasurer. Mrs. Hagan is a certified public accountant.

Back to Top

James Walter (Tom) Thomas
Executive Vice President,  CTO

Mr. Thomas received a BS (1976) and MS (1980) in Physics from Pittsburg State University. From 1976 to 1981 he taught secondary school math and science and served as a varsity football/track coach. From 1981-2002 he worked for Phillips Petroleum, joining Dawson Geophysical in the fall of 2002. He has over twenty-five years of exploration experience in the energy industry with thirteen years of actual field experience with 2-D and 3-D production and research seismic crews. He is a recognized leader in the geophysical sector for the innovation and application of 3-D seismic acquisition and specialized processing techniques. His current interests are concentrated in the development and application of seismic technology for Dawson Geophysical Company. Tom holds four patents in the field of seismic data acquisition and processing and has published his concepts and methods in geophysical literature.  He is a member of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists, the Geophysical Society of Oklahoma City, the Tulsa Geophysical Society, Permian Basin Geophysical Society, and Sigma Pi Sigma (Physics Honor Society).

Back to Top

K.S. Forsdick
Senior Vice President

Mr. Forsdick joined the Company in 1993 and was elected Vice President in January 2001. Mr. Forsdick is responsible for soliciting, designing and bidding seismic surveys for prospective clients. Prior to joining the Company, Mr. Forsdick was employed by Grant Geophysical Company and Western Geophysical Company and was responsible for marketing and managing land and marine seismic surveys for domestic and international operations. He has served on the Governmental Affairs Committee of the International Association of Geophysical Contractors.

Back to Top

Sammy M. Dobbs
Vice President, Data Processing

Mr. Dobbs is a graduate of Eastern New Mexico University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Geology. He has over 27 years of experience in processing land and transition zone data sets with an emphasis in the U.S and the Gulf of Mexico. Mr. Dobbs was elected Vice President Data Processing in October 2008. Prior to joining the Company he was employed by WesternGeco (Western Geophysical) where he was the U.S. Land Processing Manager. Mr. Dobbs oversees Dawson’s processing operations in Houston, Midland and Oklahoma City.

Back to Top

Alan Mark Nelson
Vice President, HSSE

Mr. Nelson joined the Company in 1993 and was elected Vice President in January 2004. Mr. Nelson has over thirty years of seismic experience, holds a Master’s degree in Environmental Science and is a registered environmental professional. He has also served as the Chairman of the Health, Safety and Environmental Committee of the International Association of Geophysical Contractors, is a member of the National Registry of Environmental Professionals and of the American Society of Safety Engineers.

Back to Top

sidebar management